Natarajan Raghunand, PhD

Director of Radiology Research

Scientific Director, Quantitative Imaging Core

Senior Editorial Board Member, Scientific Reports

Google Scholar Profile

ORCiD 0000-0002-8893-7687

Loop Profile

ResearchGate Profile



  • B.Tech (Chemical Engineering) - Indian Institute of Technology, Chennai, India
  • MS (Chemical Engineering) - Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO
  • PhD (Chemical Engineering) - Texas A&M University, College Station, TX


Research Interests:

  • Radiomics and Pathomics to predict upstaging of ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS)
  • Deep Learning on pre-radiation MRI for optimal Stereotactic Radiosurgery (SRS) dose planning
  • Machine Learning on multiplexed immunofluorescence of T cell, B cell, and myeloid cell infiltrates in low- and high-grade glioma
  • Quantitative MRI in sponsored cancer clinical trials


Current Lab Members

Yu Fang. Graduate Student, 2023-present.

Mushfiqul Islam. Graduate Student, 2024-present.

Sofia Cuello. Undergraduate SPARK trainee, 2024.

Israth Anwar. Undergraduate Student Researcher (IDS 4914), 2024.

Omar Altabbakh. Medical Student, 2024-present.


Lab Alumni

Ching-Nung Lin, PhD. Post-Doctoral Fellow 2021-2022. First position after leaving group: Research Scientist at the Huntsman Cancer Institute, University of Utah.

Jin Qi, MD. Post-Doctoral Fellow 2020-2021. First position after leaving group: Nuclear Medicine Resident, Class of 2024, UT Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas.

Asim M. Mazin, PhD. Post-Doctoral Fellow 2019-2020. First position after leaving group: Senior 5G SW Applications Engineer, Qualcomm Technologies, Inc.

Harshan Ravi, PhD. Post-Doctoral Fellow and Applied Research Scientist 2018-2023. First position after leaving group: Principal Scientist at the M.D. Anderson Cancer Center.

Shraddha Pandey, PhD. Doctoral Student (Electrical Engineering, USF) 2018-2022. First position after leaving group: Post-Doctoral Fellow in Radiology at the University of Pennsylvania.

Andres M. Arias-Lorza, PhD. Post-Doctoral Fellow 2018-2021. First position after leaving group: Research Scientist at the Zuse Institute Berlin (ZIB).

Samuel H. Hawkins, PhD. Post-Doctoral Fellow 2017-2019. First position after leaving group: Assistant Professor of Computer Science, Bradley University, Peoria, IL.

Michael J. Bonassar, MS. Research Associate 2015-2017. First position after leaving group: Doctor of Chiropractic degree program at National University of Health Sciences in St. Petersburg, FL.